Nobel Peace Prize Laureates: A Culture of Peace

In additional to the Final Declaration of the World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates in Meridá, Mexico, the Nobel laureates makde a special declaration about the establishment of a culture of peace:


The undersigned, gathered in Mérida, Mexico, at the 17th World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates declare:

1- Peace is the right of all human beings. It is the supreme good of humanity because without it there is no true development or possible coexistence.

2- Building a Culture of Peace rests on the belief that we must treat others as we wish to be treated. This ethical principle applies at all levels of human endeavor – personal, family, community, and national. When honored, dignity and stability follow. When violated, instability results.

3- In the midst of the current challenges of war, fear, racism, intolerance, and populist nationalism, today more than ever it is necessary to promote a Culture of Peace that follows tolerance and respect for diversity as a fundamental principle of coexistence among human beings and nations.

4- A Culture of Peace is essential for the integral development of individuals and their families, for the progress of societies and the survival of humanity.

5- A Culture of Peace expresses unconditional respect for human life and human rights. Human rights are the foundation upon which humanity can live in harmony.

6- A Culture of Peace requires respect for all other life, and for the systems that support all life on earth, as a prerequisite for the healthy development of human society. A Culture of Peace includes being at peace with oneself, others and the natural world.

7- The primary tool to promote a Culture of Peace is Peace Education, which must be taught in families, all levels of education, workplaces, and disseminated through the media, and encouraged at all levels of society.

8- First, we are human beings. Our common humanity precedes gender, race, religion, nation, sexual orientation, and political affiliation. Our humanity is enriched by its diversity.

9- We support and are inspired by the resolutions and institutions of the United Nations such as the Culture of Peace Program developed by UNESCO and in a broader sense the Sustainable Development Goals.

10- There is no greater gift we can give our nations and communities than peace. Our children and generations to come deserve this gift. Let’s make the Culture of Peace our legacy!


  1. President Frederik Willem De Klerk
  2. President Juan Manuel Santos
  3. President Lech Walesa
  4. Dr Shirin Ebadi
  5. Mrs Tawakkol Karman
  6. Lord David Trimble
  7. Prof Jody Williams
  8. Leymah Gbowee
  9. Kailash Satyarthi
  10. Rigoberta Menchú Tumand 30 Nobel Peace Laureate organisations:
  11. President José Manuel Barroso, 11thPresident, European Commission
  12. International Committee of the Red Cross
  13. The American Friends Service Committee
  14. Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet
  15. Martin Luther King Centre
  16. Albert Schweitzer Institute
  17. Desmond Tutu Peace Centre
  18. Grameen Creative Lab
  19. Nelson Mandela Foundation
  20. Institute of international Law
  21. ICAN
  22. Amnesty International
  23. European Commission
  24. International Campaign to Ban Landmines
  25. International Labour Organisation
  26. International Peace Bureau
  27. International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
  28. Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs
  29. United Nations
  30. United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and receive regular updates, insights, and expert opinions from leaders in nuclear disarmament and world peace.

Unlock the power of positive change with the Global Security Institute. We conduct groundbreaking research, engage in impactful advocacy, and collaborate with leaders across the globe, from heads of state to the public. Your generous support is the key to our success in creating a safer world. Donate today and be a catalyst for global security.

Most Popular